The Metro Gold Line Foothill Extension Construction Authority (Foothill Gold Line) is governed by a nine-member board of directors. Five members are voting members, while four are non-voting. Each member is appointed by a city or other government entity, as directed in the legislation that created the agency, SB1847. Click here for meeting schedules, agendas and location details.

In addition, cities from South Pasadena to Ontario are represented on two advisory boards to the Construction Authority – the Joint Powers Authority (comprised of elected official representatives appointed by each city) and Technical Advisory Committee (comprised of city managers or their staff appointees).

Board Member Compensation

Per the Construction Authority’s Administrative Code, “Each Board Member shall be compensated at the rate of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150) for any day attending to the business of the Authority, but not to exceed six hundred dollars ($600) in any month.”

Ed Reece

Appointee, San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments

Mr. Reece currently serves as Council Member in the City of Claremont.

Tim Hepburn

Appointee, City of Pasadena

Mr. Hepburn currently serves as Mayor in the City of La Verne.

Tim Sandoval

Appointee, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro)

Mr. Sandoval currently serves as Mayor in the City of Pomona.

Vice Chair
Mendell Thompson

Appointee, City of South Pasadena

Mr. Thompson currently serves as Mayor in the City of Glendora.


Appointee, City of Los Angeles

GeneMasuda Member, Non-Voting
Gene Masuda

Appointee, City of Pasadena

Mr. Masuda currently serves as a Council Member in the City of Pasadena.


Gubernatorial Appointee

Dan_Evans Member, Non-Voting
Daniel M. Evans

Appointee, City of South Pasadena

Mr. Evans is an attorney and professor of international business and marketing.

Member, Non-Voting
Alan D. Wapner

Appointee, San Bernardino County Transportation Authority (SBCTA)

Mr. Wapner currently serves as Mayor Pro Tem in the City of Ontario.

For questions about the Construction Authority Board of Directors and meetings, contact the Clerk of the Board, Natasha Peterson, 626-305-7002.

Joint Powers Authority

Technical Advisory Committee